News Article

News Article

KISS Finally Unveils 'Sonic Boom' Details!


The long-awaited, highly anticipated return of KISS to the recording studio has finally borne fruit, and if the band's latest official announcement is any indication, it's gonna be sweet, tasty fruit indeed... even if it's wrapped in a kinda goofy-looking package, to put it kindly. But there's still mighty maxi-news to be shared over the impending arrival of the now officially-titled Sonic Boom, and I'll break it down for you below!

In a series of media blasts on their official site, the band has also revealed the track listing from Sonic Boom, which will reportedly be part of a three-disc set including a full album of re-recorded greatest hits (ported over from an earlier Japanese release) entitled KISS Klassics and a DVD featuring footage from the band's show in Argentina as part of the “KISS Alive 35” South American tour. And now for the full track lists...

Sonic Boom:

1. Modern Day Delilah
2. Russian Roulette
3. Never Enough
4. Yes I Know (Nobody's Perfect)
5. Stand
6. Hot And Cold
7. All For The Glory
8. Danger Us
9. I'm An Animal
10. When Lightning Strikes
11. Say Yeah

KISS Klassics:

1. Deuce
2. Detroit Rock City
3. Shout It Out Loud
4. Hotter Than Hell
5. Calling Dr. Love
6. Love Gun
7. I Was Made For Lovin' You
8. Heaven's On Fire
9. Lick It Up
10. I Love It Loud
11. Forever
12. Christine Sixteen
13. Do You Love Me?
14. Black Diamond
15. Rock And Roll All Nite

After being uncharacteristically silent on the details, Gene Simmons finally loosened his legendary tongue to sing the album's praises, declaring Sonic Boom to be “the best new record we've done since Destroyer” and described it as a combination of iconic releases Rock and Roll Over and Love Gun. Paul Stanley reiterates his earlier comments about the return to their classic sound and declares that “in every sense, Sonic Boom is the ultimate return to classic KISS form."

Then there's that album cover... which is a crying shame, considering it was created by Michael Doret, the artist behind the legendary Rock And Roll Over artwork, to which it bears a slight resemblance. But to me this one looks flat and uninspired, with garish colors and seemingly off-the-rack digital effects (to be fair, Paul reportedly wanted to use photographs of the band as source images, instead of painted portraits). But in the end it's what's inside that counts, and if the sample of “Modern Day Delilah” making the rounds this week is any indication, I'd say things are headed in the right direction.

Another rumor confirmed by the band's recent blog update/press release is their partnership with Wal-Mart for the exclusive North American distribution of Sonic Boom beginning on October 6th ('cuz, you know, nothing says rock 'n' roll like a trip to your local Wally World). However, they did not yet confirm Gene's earlier hint that the mega-box store may feature a special “Kiss Korner” chock-full of band merchandise, but word has it that's definitely in the works.