News Article

News Article

School of Seven Bells Summon Ghosts in New Album

Ethereal alt-pop duo School of Seven Bells (guitarist/producer Benjamin Curtis and vocalist/songwriter Alejandra Deheza) have found an ideal home for their eerie, otherworldly sound: their third studio release Ghostory will be a concept album which tells the tale of a girl named Lafaye and the many specters – both emotional and literal – which haunt her life. We've got plenty of details about the project after the jump, including the cover art and the final tracklist, so read on...

Since their formation in 2006, School Of Seven Bells continue to draw on '80s synth-pop, Brian Eno-style ambient music and spacey shoegaze rock to create their otherworldly (but very danceable) sound, which paired with an intimate lyrical style is perfectly suited to an album about a literally haunted heroine. "Everyone has ghosts," Deheza says about the album's theme. "They're every love you've ever had, every hurt, every betrayal, every heartbreak. They follow you, stay with you."

The band sums it up perfectly on their Facebook page with a quote from Guillermo Del Toro's classic film The Devil's Backbone: "‎What is a ghost? A tragedy condemned to repeat itself time and again? An instant of pain, perhaps. Something dead which still seems to be alive. An emotion suspended in time. Like a blurred photograph. Like an insect trapped in amber."

The elements of Ghostory were created while the band was between tours, and according to Curtis, resulted from a very close collaboration. "We knew we wanted to do something that was more sensual and spontaneous than anything we had ever done before," he explained, "and that meant writing together in a room, coming up with ideas quickly and immediately reacting to what the other person was doing."

Ghostory is slated for release on February 28th, 2012. Here's the complete tracklist:

"The Night"
"Love Play"
"Low Times"
"Show Me Love"
"White Wind"
"When You Sing"